Email Updates

News | Announcements | Photo Gallery

Akognon Voted Big West Player of the Year

March 9, 2009

Irvine, Calif. - Senior guard Josh Akognon today became the first Cal State Fullerton men's basketball player to win conference player of the year honors outright as he headed the 2008-09 Big West Conference team announced today.

Scott Cutley shared the Big West honor last year with UCSB's Alex Harris and Greg Bunch shared the Pacific Coast Athletic Association trophy with San Diego State's Steve Copp in 1975-76.

Point guard Jacques Streeter made the all-freshmen team and Gerard Anderson earned honorable mention.

Joining Akognon on the first team were Larry Anderson of Long Beach State, Kyle Austin of UC Riverside, Chris Devine of UC Santa Barbara, Vince Oliver of UC Davis and Tremaine Townsend of Cal State Northridge.

Akognon last week was selected to the NABC All-District 9 first team. He was joined on that squad by four West Coast Conference players and that league had all five selections on the second team as the Big West was shut out besides Akognon.

Akognon has been in the nation's Top Ten in scoring all season, currently at 23.5 points per game. He's also one of the leading 3-point field goal and free throw shooters.